THE Awards 2022

The THE Awards have, for almost two decades, tracked the exceptional achievements of our universities – surely these islands’ greatest asset. This year, the shortlists and winners reflect a particular moment in time, the 2020-21 academic year, when universities were coming to terms with and continuing to respond to the changed circumstances imposed by the pandemic. As such, it is inevitable that those heroic efforts related to the Covid crisis are represented, but what is perhaps more striking is how rich and diverse the entries to this year’s awards were, how focused on the core missions of universities to deliver world-changing research, life-changing teaching, and all the other ways in which they engage and support communities, regions and countries.

There is little sense in these submissions, and in the winners detailed in this publication, that these were universities struggling through such exceptional times. Instead, the picture that is painted is of a sector that has risen to the occasion with skill and confidence, and refused to be pushed off course. That is as impressive as the Covid-specific initiatives and interventions that also characterised this unusual academic year.

Congratulations again to all of our winners, and to all of those shortlisted.

– John Gill, editor, THE

The winners were announced on 17 November 2022, view the photos of the ceremony in our Flickr album .

Below are the shortlisted and winning entries, and here you will find an e-book profiling all the winners .

Watch the highlights video

Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Sponsored by Advance HE

Abertay University

University of Birmingham

University of Huddersfield (winner)

Kingston University

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Newcastle University

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Veredus

Dublin City University (winner)

Edge Hill University

Keele University

University of Manchester

St Mary's University, Twickenham

Swansea University

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Entries were not required for this category.

Cardiff University

University of East Anglia

University of Glasgow

University of Limerick

London South Bank University

Trinity College Dublin

University College Cork (winner)

University College Dublin

THE Outstanding Achievement Award

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Mary Beard