The THE Awards are widely recognised as the Oscars of the higher education sector. 

Each year we attract hundreds of entries that exemplify the talent, dedication and innovation of individuals and teams across all aspects of university life, showing us countless reasons why our institutions continue to prosper.  

And after our esteemed judging panel has toiled over this treasure trove of excellence, our awards evening  –  where well over a thousand people gather for dinner in London’s largest available room –  gives  us the perfect opportunity to celebrate and reflect on the extraordinary breadth and depth of our higher education sector. 

As ever, the THE Awards are free to enter, and open to all UK higher education institutions.

This year’s categories are as follows:

  1. Excellence and Innovation in the Arts
  2. International Collaboration of the Year
  3. Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development
  4. Business School of the Year
  5. Technological Innovation of the Year
  6. Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year 
  7. Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences
  8. Research Project of the Year: STEM
  9. University of the Year
  10. Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year  
  11. Most Innovative Teacher of the Year
  12. International Impact Award
  13. Outstanding Support for Students
  14. Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community
  15. Outstanding University Entrepreneurship Award
  16. Most Improved Student Experience
  17. THE DataPoints Merit Award
  18. Most Innovative Contribution to Business-University Collaboration
  19. The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Please click here to see the full criteria.

The winners will be revealed at our gala awards evening at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London on Thursday 30 November 2017.