THE Awards 2013

Across 18 categories, with shortlisted entries from more than 60 universities, tonight's highlight the very best that UK higher education has to offer. Rewarding outstanding performance by individuals, teams and institutions, we are here to celebrate one of the UK's truly world-class assets - our universities and colleges and the dedicated staff who make them what they are.

It is a great privilege to be able to hold these awards, and all of us at Times Higher Education with everybody who has made the shortlist our sincere congratulations - and the best of luck!

- John Gill, editor, THE

University of the Year

Sponsored by Santander Universities

University of Birmingham

University of East Anglia

**University of Huddersfield**

Newcastle University

University of Northampton

York St. John University

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Sponsored by AMITY University

University of Aberdeen

De Montford University

University of Huddersfield

**University of Manchester**

Plymouth University

University of West London

Business School of the Year

**Brunel Business School, Brunel University **

ESCP Europe Buiness School

Henley Business School, University of Reading

Northampton Business School, University of Northampton

The Open University Business School

Salford Business School, University of Salford

Excellence and Innovation in the Arts

**University of Derby**

University of Kent

Newcastle University

Norwich University of the Arts

University of York

York St. John University

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by DataMark

University of Birmingham

City, University of London

**London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London**

Manchester Metropolitan University

Pembroke College, Oxford

University of Sussex

Research Project of the Year

Sponsored by Symplectic

University of Glasgow

**University of Leicester**

University of Liverpool

University of Nottingham

Queen Mary, University of London

Queen's University of Belfast

Outstanding Support for Early Career Researchers

Sponsored by Vitae

University of Aberdeen

University of Edinburgh

University of Glasgow

King's College London

**Queen's University Belfast**

University of Surrey

Outstanding Contribution to Sustainable Development

University of East Anglia

University of Gloucestershire

**University of Greenwich**

Lancaster University

Newcastle University

Plymouth University

Most Improved Student Experience

Sponsored by StudentCom

University of Aberdeen

Aston University

University of Exeter

University of Liverpool

Royal Holloway, University of London

**University of Stirling**

Outstanding Employer Engagement Initiative

Sponsored by Prospect Research

Brunel University

University of Cumbria

Durham University

**University of Edinburgh**

Staffordshire University

York St John University

Outstanding ICT Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Jisc

**University of Central Lancashire**

Keele University

University of Kent

Leeds Metropolitan University

University of Manchester

University of Stirling

International Collaboration of the Year

SGH Martineau

University of East Anglia

The Open University

University of Reading

**University College London**

University of York

York St. John University

Outstanding Contribution to Innovation and Technology

Sponsored by Elsevier

**Aberystwyth University**

University of East Anglia

Loughborough University

Newcastle University

University of Reading

University of Strathclyde

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by CAPITA

University of Derby

**University of Essex**

University of Leicester

Plymouth University

University of Stirling

University of Sunderland

Entrepreneurial University of the Year

Sponsored by NCEE

University of Chester

University of Lincoln

University of Sheffield

**University of Strathclyde**

University of Surrey

Teesside University

Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development

Sponsored by the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education

**Cardiff University (on behalf of Welsh Crucible)**

City, University London

University of Sheffield

University of Warwick

University of Wolverhampton

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by the Higher Education Academy

David Cohen, Royal Holloway, University of London

**Simon Kemp, University of Southampton **

Rachel McCrindle, University of Reading

David J. McGarvey, Keele University

Jennifer Otter Bickerdike, University of East London

Neil Pickles, University of Chester

The Lord Dearing Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by Veredus

**Roger Brown**

You can also click here to view our 2013 gallery

For more pictures you can access our flickr page here .

**Award winner** 

*Highly commended by our judges*