THE Awards 2020


"In an extraordinary year, the opportunity to sit down with the Times Higher Education Awards judges – remotely, of course – and immerse oneself in the stories behind our shortlisted entries was more rewarding than ever. Because the awards recognise achievements in the 2018-19 academic year, we are dealing with the world as it was pre-pandemic. Perhaps that is why spending time with the entries was such a pleasure.

Regardless of the timing, though, the brilliance on display in every category, from institutions the length and breadth of the country, is a reminder of the role that universities must, and will, play in guiding the way through this crisis. From the brilliance of our researchers to the exceptional teaching and the extraordinary ingenuity shown by administrative staff, examples of innovation abound – which will be critical for both universities and the country in the period ahead.

In some ways, picking out examples of individual achievement seems at odds with the collective effort that has been so vital during the difficult months this year. But the THE Awards have been celebrating the UK sector in this way for 16 years, so a pandemic wasn’t going to stop us – and, as ever, they reflect the talent that exists across our sector.

Congratulations to our winners, and thank you to every one of you for the part you play."

– John Gill, editor, THE

The winners were announced during a virtual ceremony on 26 November 2020. Below is the shortlist, with the winners denoted by an asterisk. View the full ceremony on YouTube .

An e-book profiling all the winners is available here .

Business School of the Year

Sponsored by Password

Aberdeen Business School, Robert Gordon University *

Aston Business School, Aston University

Bath Business School, Bath Spa University

Birmingham Business School, University of Birmingham

University of Exeter Business School

Hertfordshire Business School, University of Hertfordshire

International Collaboration of the Year

Sponsored by Huawei

University of Central Lancashire

University of Edinburgh, in collaboration with the Karolinska Institute and the universities of New South Wales, Western Australia and Uppsala

London South Bank University

The Royal College of Midwives, in collaboration with the Bangladesh Midwifery Society

Sheffield Hallam University

Swansea University, in collaboration with UK and international partners *

Knowledge Exchange/Transfer Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Huawei

University of Dundee

University of Hertfordshire

Royal Holloway, University of London

Teesside University

University of West London

University of the West of Scotland *

Most Innovative Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by Advance HE

Georgina Blakeley, University of Huddersfield

Shonagh Douglas, Aberdeen Business School

Judith Francois, Kingston University *

Tina Joshi, University of Plymouth

Kate Lister, Leeds Trinity University

Aimée Little, University of York

Hugh McFaul, The Open University

David Martin, University of Dundee

Outstanding Contribution to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Sponsored by Advance HE

Birkbeck, University of London

University of Gloucestershire

University of Huddersfield

University of the West of England

University of West London

University of Worcester *

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Sponsored by SmartCitti

De Montfort University

Edinburgh Napier University

Harper Adams University

University of Manchester *

Queen's University Belfast

Staffordshire University

Outstanding Entrepreneurial University

Sponsored by NCEE

Aston University *

University of East London

Robert Gordon University

Royal Agricultural University

Teesside University


Outstanding Estates Strategy

Sponsored by Savills

University of Birmingham *

De Montfort University

University of Huddersfield

London School of Economics and Political Science

Manchester Metropolitan University

University of West London

Outstanding Library Team

De Montfort University

Edge Hill University

University of Edinburgh *

Northumbria University

University of Strathclyde

Outstanding Marketing/Communications Team

Sponsored by TikTok

Buckinghamshire New University

University of Dundee

University of Hertfordshire

Staffordshire University *

University of Stirling


Outstanding Research Supervisor of the Year

Sponsored by Elsevier

Camilla Gilmore, Loughborough University

Bill Hunter, University of Dundee

Christine Le Maitre, Sheffield Hallam University

Tara Moore, Ulster University *

Anant Paradkar, University of Bradford

Elaine Ramsey, Ulster University

Murray Smith, University of Kent

Dan Stone, Royal Holloway, University of London

Outstanding Support for Students

Sponsored by Anderson Quigley

Arts University Bournemouth

Edge Hill University

Edinburgh Napier University

Nottingham Trent University *

Solent University

University of the West of England

Outstanding Technician of the Year

Sponsored by Technician Commitment

David de la Haye, Newcastle University

Paul Driver, Anglia Ruskin University

Jane Hubble, Cranfield University

Matt Lewis, Staffordshire University

Samantha McCormack, Buckinghamshire New University

Áine McGuckin, Queen's University Belfast

Jan Timms, Sheffield Hallam University

John Waters, University of Liverpool *

Research Project of the Year: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

University of Exeter

Manchester Metropolitan University

Newcastle University

Queen's University Belfast

The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama

Royal Holloway, University of London *

Research Project of the Year: STEM

Sponsored by Elsevier

University of Central Lancashire

De Montfort University

University of Exeter

Heriot-Watt University *

Newcastle University

University of Reading

Technological or Digital Innovation of the Year

Anglia Ruskin University, in collaboration with MyKnowledgeMap

University of Exeter *

University of Glasgow

Imperial College Business School

University of Southampton

Ulster University

Widening Participation or Outreach Initiative of the Year

Buckinghamshire New University

University of Greenwich

Kingston University

Newcastle University, on behalf of the North East Collaborative Outreach Programme

Royal Northern College of Music *

University of Worcester

THE DataPoints Merit Award

Sponsored by THE DataPoints

Entries were not required for this category.

University of Dundee

Glasgow Caledonian University

King’s College London

University of Leeds

London South Bank University

Queen’s University Belfast

University of Surrey *

University of Worcester

THE Outstanding Achievement Award

Entries were not required for this category, and there is no shortlist for this category.

Admissions Team, UK Higher Education *

University of the Year

Sponsored by Western Union Business Solutions

Edge Hill University

University of Glasgow *

Keele University

The Open University

Staffordshire University

University of Worcester